thoughts, dreams, hopes, wishes, and reminiscences

today is the first day of the rest of your life

Today is the first day of the rest of your life. It’s also the first day in 2013. So, a lot of people will be talking about their goals, resolutions, anti-resolutions, and commitments, both the ones they made for 2012 and if they accomplished them, and the new ones they are making for 2013.

My resolution for 2012 was to not make any resolutions. I both failed and succeeded in that goal.

Some people want to lose weight, eat healthier, create a game, write a book, a play, a movie. Some want to get a promotion, paint a masterpiece, start their own business, or volunteer. Some people want to read more books, watch certain movies, learn (or improve/expand) a new skill or hobby. Some people want to change their life completely, new place to live, new job, go to school, get married, get a divorce. Other people go for shorter term goals. My 3-year-old nephew said he wants to learn how to turn on and off his lamp. My sister wants to cook something she’s never cooked before. (Then she was brave and made the risky move of asking for suggestions.)

Do I want to write about my goals, my resolutions? First I’d have to figure out what they are. Do I want to make goals for 2013? I don’t feel the need to completely rearrange my life and turn it upside down. But there are a few things I want to do, both large and small, and 2013 seems like a good time to work on them.

I want to continue to write, but that by itself is not a very concrete goal. Let’s see if I can come up with something a little more measurable.

I want to continue writing in this blog. Maybe not every single day, but at least several times a week. That I’ll be able to measure throughout the year.

I want to finish the two short stories I’m currently in the middle of “No Such Thing as Ghosts” and “Drunk”. (Both are working titles and subject to change at any time.) You can read the first page of “Drunk” here.

I want to continue working on writing my possible novel “Of Sorcery and Science”. I don’t have a goal of finishing it, just to keep working on it.

I have put together some of my poems into something resembling a book. I’d like to add some art to it to make it more interesting, and work on polishing it up, make it look all pretty and maybe see if anyone other than a handful of friends and co-workers like it. Like more friends and co-workers. Maybe I’ll look into submitting to a publisher. Maybe.

I think that’s it, as far as creative goals go. There are many other creative things I’d like to do/learn/experience, including photography and drawing, but I’ll focus my goals on writing for now. I’ll probably do a lot of other things, such as take a few pictures, doodle/draw some, write new poems and ideas and possibly other short stories. I might also work on a few projects with friends.

There are a few other goals as well. Learn more about Microsoft Excel 2010, for one. We use Microsoft Office where I work, and Excel is the one used the most that I know the least about.

I’d like to travel a little bit, but I doubt my finances this coming year will allow me to do much, if any at all, unfortunately.

I’ll be reading books. I don’t have any goals as far as reading goes, other than a few specific books I’d like to read, both new and old. The last book in the Wheel of Time should be coming out this year, I’m hoping to read that one before someone posts how it ends on Facebook or something. I want to read Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland. The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum. Some of Jules Verne’s books. Maybe pick up some Ray Bradbury stories again. The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins. I’m sure I’ll think of a lot more, and probably pick up a few (a lot of) random books I’ve never heard of by authors I’ve never heard of as well.

So I’ve figured out my goals, some larger than others. But how will I accomplish them? Positive thinking will only get you so far. You have to put some work into it.

- Continue my blog: Easy enough. Keep writing in it. Keep adding to my list of possible blog post ideas. Though I probably should try to work on reducing the time between when I start writing a post and when I finish it. This will give me more time to work on my next goals.

- Finish “Drunk”, “No Such Thing as Ghosts” and continue “Of Sorcery and Science”: I’ll have to spend time writing in them of course. I should probably try to focus on one of the short stories until it’s done, then work on the other until it’s done, and then work on the longer story that may end up around novel length. Alright, I’ve decided. January is “Drunk” month. At the end of the story or the end of January, I’ll re-evaluate and figure out where to go from there.

- My book of poems: Make sure all the poems I want in it are in it, and they are organized and formatted the way I want them. Let more people read it and make any changes necessary. Add art to it. Probably continue to tweak it.

- Learn more about Microsoft Excel 2010: Well, since some of my co-workers want to learn more about Excel as well, I’ll just work with them to learn about it, at least at first.

- Read books: Simple. Make use of my local library system. I just put Alice in Wonderland on hold. Once I’m done with that book, I’ll move on to the next one.

Well, enough talking about my goals. I should probably get started working on them. Best of luck to all of you who made resolutions of your own, big or small.

One response

  1. Pingback: the creative process never ends « memoirs of an unremarkable man

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 201 other followers