I spent too much time reworking my “about me” page today. It still needs a lot of work, but at least it relates to my blog now. You can view it here if you’re interested.

The slightly more interesting thing that happened to me while working on that was a line that randomly popped into my head. I quickly typed it out, and then wrote a haiku around it. Once you see the line, you’ll know why it’s a haiku.

The poem (which I’ll share in a bit) made me think of another haiku I wrote several years ago. Both haikus are about, well, haikus. I’ve always like haikus. Simple, short, and if well written, very poignant and thought-provoking.
One day, I decided to learn more about haikus, and with a short internet search, I read that haikus come from Japan, and that traditionally are about nature. I also read that traditional haikus count the 5/7/5 of the three lines differently than most modern poets. Some syllables, such as elongated vowels, count as two syllables. Somewhere, I read that it’s the sounds that are counted, not the syllables. Which is actually true? Maybe both. Maybe neither. You can find just about anything on the internet.

True or not, I found it interesting. I even wrote a poem about it.

Haiku

Syllables, not sounds
Americanization
Nontraditional

As you can probably tell, I was counting syllables, and not sounds. When I wrote it, part of me was thinking of all the many things that change when they come from their original country to the United States of America. Some people think “Americanized” things are somehow inferior to the original. Watered down. Less than what it should be. But is it? Just because something is a version of something rather than an exact copy, does that make it less than the original?

It depends on how it’s done. If the person making the variation takes some pride in their work, it might be different, but just as good (maybe better) than the original. If the person is just trying to make as much money as possible with as little work as possible, then likely the variation will be lacking.

Well, here you go. I promised a random haiku that started with a line that randomly popped into my head, and here it is. That line is the first line of the poem. Hope you like it.

a ridiculous haiku about nothing much at all

a haiku for you
a little poem that follows
a specific form

2 thoughts on “random haikus

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

