I’m a day late and a dollar short, but I was thinking about the Daily Prompt from yesterday (see it here). Here’s what it said:

“A writer once said, “You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.” If this is true, which five people would you like to spend your time with?

To be blunt, I don’t like it. It seems to cheapen everyone. Like you can’t be your own person. Yes, the people you spend time with will influence you, but it doesn’t mean you are going to be like them, or do what they do, or what they would do. Do you think you would know me by looking at the 5 people I spend the most time with? You might learn some things about me, but not all, not even close.

We aren’t going to acquire the skills or talents of our friends. We will hopefully learn something from them. But if I have a friend that eats healthy and works out all the time, and I sit and eat junk food all the time, I’m going to get fat. I might pick some weightlifting jargon from my friend, but I’m not going to get fit from spending time with them.

Now that’s a stupid and obvious example, but just because you spend a lot of time with someone, doesn’t mean you’re going to adopt their attitudes, idiosyncracies, or way of speaking.

Also, sometimes we meet (or don’t actually meet, but interact with, such as online) someone very briefly, and it changes how we think, how we look at the world. We might change what we do or how we do it because a substitute teacher we only met once in our lives taught us something new. Or because of a conversation with temp worker at our job (or maybe we were the temp worker). Or having a conversation with a random stranger at a bus stop. We don’t spend a lot of time with them, but they change our lives. Who knows? You can never tell who going to influence you.

But, maybe I’m reading this all wrong, reading too much into it. Enough whining.

If it were true, the 5 people I would want to spend time with would be Abraham Lincoln, Superman, Edgar Allan Poe, Batman, and Leonardo da Vinci.

Why not, right?

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

