So my last post I wrote about how I don’t always know where my inspiration comes from. I don’t always know why I put certain words next to each other, instead of a different combination. I don’t know why certain phrases stick in my brain and demand to be played with, experimented with, added to and expanded upon.

Last night, after I finished my post, I was working on my short story, “Drunk”. (Hooray! I’m working on one of my new year resolutions!) I wrote the line “The night pressed in around him…” without really thinking about it too much, until after I wrote it. It was one of those lines that sticks in my brain. When I went to bed last night, I didn’t go to sleep right away. I pulled out the notebook I keep by my bed and wrote a few lines based on that line.

Today, I brought that notebook to work with me today. On my break, I rewrote those lines, changing them quite a bit, and adding a lot of lines to it.

On my lunch, I rewrote it again, changing a little bit and adding several more lines. I have the feeling that I will end up writing quite a few more lines before it’s done. I have a feeling that this poem might turn out to be one of my favorites.

Now all I have to do is decide what I’m going to do once I post this: write in my story “Drunk” or work on this poem? Maybe I’ll be able to work on both…

One thought on “the creative process never ends

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

