So when my wife started her blog, she spent days searching through every single one of the various possible themes in order to find the best one and personalize it to set it up to her satisfaction before she ever posted anything. You can see the awesome results of her hard work here.

Not me. When I started my blog, I spent about 20 minutes or so browsing through a few themes, picked one I thought looked decent, and started blogging.

The theme I picked (“Dusk to Dawn”) did look good, but yesterday I decided that I’d go through and take a closer look to see what else is available.

If you visited my site more than once over the past two days, you might have noticed several changes, as I would try out different themes to see exactly how they work and if they seemed to fit.

There were a lot that I liked, but there always seemed to be something I didn’t like about it. Fjords04 is interesting, but my posts were so squished into one narrow column it took forever to scroll through them. Neo-Sapien is pretty cool, but the widgets were all squished together and hard to tell where one ended and the next began. Chaos Theory doesn’t have any side bars, and I like my widgets. The title of my blog is too long and awkward for the Sunspot theme. Dark Wood, Chaotic Soul, Sundance, Hero, Piano Black, Monochrome, and Hemingway are all great themes. There just seemed to be something about them that didn’t seem to work for me.

I almost decided on Andreas04, but the one I currently have is called “Able”. If you asked me yesterday, I never would have thought that I would select a theme that was pretty much plain white. But I think I like it (maybe), and I think I’ll keep it. For now.

Though I’ll probably check back in every once in a while to look at any new themes, or look at older themes again. You never know when I’ll find something I like better.

WordPress’ Daily Post has a good post about choosing a theme (Of course they do! They’re promoting their own product!) that you can read here.

I’m also experimenting with adding additional pages. I wanted to find a way to highlight the poems I have scattered here and there through out my posts. So, I’ve added a page called pieces of my soul to my blog, and created pages under it for all my poems. I don’t know if I’ll keep it organized like that, I may try creating categories for my poems and grouping them that way.

I also might add a page or pages for any stories or segment of stories I have or will include in my blog. I’ll have to see.

This is definitely a work in progress. If anybody has any feedback or suggestions on my current theme, or how I have my site organized, or how I might make my stuff more easily accessible, I’d greatly appreciate it.

2 thoughts on “updating my site

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

