I posted two Fridays ago (read it here if you want) about the SVW Flash! Friday writing challenge, and how I hoped to be able to actually submit a piece this past Friday.

The prompt this past week was a photo, you can see it here. The requirements for this story was quite a bit stricter this time. Instead of 140 – 160 words, the story had to be 50 words exactly. 50 words! That’s it. 50 words is not a lot.

Well, last Friday I was actually able to write a 50 word story inspired by the prompt photo, and actually submit it in the time limit.

~

Here is the story I came up with:

Moon Landing

“You’re not done yet? Boy, you’re always distracted. You’ll never amount to anything. What are you thinking about?”

“Flying to the moon.”

“That’s ridiculous! Get your head out of the clouds. And finish your chores!”

He continued sweeping, and smiled as he stepped out of his spaceship onto the moon.

~

Now, I didn’t win the contest, but I didn’t expect to either. There were so many great stories, I told my wife I was going to have a hard time voting for myself! It was amazing to see all the different takes and ideas, and all were very well written. The one that won definitely deserved it. You can see the winner here.

It was a definitely an experience having to make sure my story was 50 words. The other interesting thing for me is that my story was almost all conversation between two characters. Dialogue is not usually something I gravitate to naturally (in writing or in real life), so I was kind of surprised to see the shape my story took.

I’m looking forward to seeing what the prompt is this coming Friday. It’s not about winning, it’s about stretching and growing my abilities as a writer, with the added bonus of getting to read some great stories by some great writers.

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

