Granted, me being confused isn’t all that uncommon. It’s usually an everyday occurrence. But I don’t always confuse myself. There is usually someone or something else involved. Sometimes it’s because I’m half awake, other times I’m fully awake and there’s someone talking to me, or someone wrote something and for whatever reason my brain cells aren’t coming together to make sense of it.

But then there are those times when I, and I alone, confuse myself…

I have a document that I keep saved on my laptop. It’s called “Possible Blog Ideas”.

Not much of a surprise here, it’s simply a list that I write and save of ideas that might make a good blog post. When I use one, I mark it, so I know I’ve used it. I don’t get rid of it, in case I want to use it again (though a different aspect or angle of it, hopefully).

Well, at one point I wrote down in that list “evolving stories”.

And I have no idea why. No clue what I was thinking when I wrote it. I know a little about evolving stories, because a lot of times one will have an idea, even plan it out, but once the writing starts, things change. Sometimes a little, sometimes a lot. Maybe the main character changes, or the point of view. Sometimes the entire setting and plot changes so much the finished story is nothing like the original idea. And that’s not necessarily a bad thing.

But, I still don’t know why I wrote “evolving stories” in my list of possible blog ideas. I don’t know what I would actually write about that would fit in that subject. I am not currently writing a story that I would consider an “evolving story”. Though I did fairly recently write a poem that didn’t really start to work until I changed the sex of the person in it from male to female. (You can read it here, if you’d like.)

I’ve been looking at those two words “evolving stories” every time I open that document for the past several weeks now. And I am confused every time. I can’t remember exactly when I wrote them, or what I was thinking when I wrote it.

Oh well. I guess I have written a blog post about evolving stories (sort of). I can mark it off and forget about for it for a while. Maybe if it sinks back into my subconscious, it will percolate for a while, and then bubble up when it’s ready again. Maybe then I’ll blog about “evolving stories” the way I originally intended too. Hopefully I’ll write out a more detailed description for myself so I’ll be less likely to forget what I was trying to remind myself of.

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

