So it’s the last day of the first month. The end of the beginning, if you will.

30 days ago, I wrote about some things I wanted to work on this year, and I wanted to do a quick check and see how I’m doing.

I wanted to keep blogging. I think I got that one covered. I think I blogged every day except one, maybe two, this past month, which is pretty good. I’m not too worried about posting something every single day, I just want to keep it going. I’ve also continued to build connections with other bloggers (i.e. commenting more instead of just liking), and come across a few more awesome blogs.

I talked about three stories I’m in the middle of. “Drunk”, “There’s No Such Thing as Ghosts”, and “Of Sorcery and Science”. I wanted to focus on “Drunk” until it was done, then move on to the others. I didn’t write in “Drunk” as often as I had thought I would. I got distracted by (among other things) picking up drawing again, a little bit anyway. But I did get the story to a point where I probably could end it if I wanted to, though I do have some ideas on how to take it farther. I’m thinking I might want to have some people read it and give me some feedback, because if I need to make some changes, I’d prefer to do it before continuing with the story. I probably will ask my wife to read it, and maybe a couple of people at work, but maybe I should try to find a writer’s group to join up with. I could probably learn a lot. I suppose I could post it here on my blog. Would any of you be willing to read a 4,300 + word story and let me know what you think? That’s not very long, as far as short stories go, right?

I still need to decide if I will continue focusing on “Drunk” for now, or if I’ll call it good for now and move on to “There’s No Such Thing as Ghosts”.

I also wanted to continue working on a collection of my poems that I had put together. I have been slowly working on that, adjusting the margins and layout a bit, experimenting with some variations. A few more people have read it, and some have given me some interesting feedback. Part of me still wants to add artwork to it, but I don’t have a clear idea of what type/style of artwork. Do I want to try to be the artist, or should I try to work with someone more artistically talented than me?

I also wanted to read Alice in Wonderland and The Wizard of Oz. I have read them both. They were both good, but shorter than I thought they would be. The Wizard of Oz was very different from the original movie, which just goes to show that movie adaptations of books have been changing plot lines and characters since they started making movie adaptations of books, or at least since 1939.

There was also something in there about learning more about MS Excel, for work purposes. I have yet to do anything about it. There was some sort of pseudo-plan talked about with my supervisor where he and I and the other two people on our little team would work together to learn more about Excel, but it hasn’t happened. Not too surprising. I guess I’ll just have to do something on my own, which wouldn’t be the first time where I work.

Well, that’s it for January. I don’t think I’ve done too badly on the things I wanted to work on. The only thing I haven’t made any progress on is something that would help me at work, and who cares about that when I’m on the verge of becoming a world-renowned author? Or not. Ha!

I think in February, I’ll try to work on my poem collection, really polish it  up as much as I can, and figure out my adding artwork dilemma.  I’ll also try to get some feedback on what I have for “Drunk” and figure out where I want to go with it, but I have a feeling it will sit on the back burner and simmer for a little while. I might pull up “There’s No Such Thing as Ghosts”, but I’m not going to commit to anything on it this coming month because February is a short month and I’m pretty sure I’m going to have to overhaul that story quite extensively.

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

