little bluebird

sing your sad, lonely song

in someone else’s ear

little bluebird

spread your melancholy message

where someone wants to hear

little bluebird

don’t perch on my heart anymore

fly far away, fly somewhere new

little bluebird

I’m happy today, smiling in the sunshine

don’t you get in the way of my cheer

little bluebird

no raining on my celebrating parade

no longer for you will I cry my tears

little bluebird

my bittersweet blue is now yellow

of dismal gray I am no longer aware

little bluebird

you’ll get no frowns from me this time

no lonely sighs or worrisome fears

little bluebird

so sing your sad, lonely song if you must

but go and sing in someone else’s ear

little bluebird

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

