If you go back in time a few days and read what I posted on Saturday, February 9th, you’ll see that I wrote about dragons invading my blog, all because I won the weekly writing contest. They got all wild and crazy on Twitter and all crazy and celebratory on the Flash Friday site, giving me my own winner’s page and everything. It was all very exciting for this boring fellow. I swear I’m part hobbit. Dragons and everything! I didn’t know what to say or how to react! I’m sure they think me quite rude.

Well, a few days has gone by, and while it’s still very exciting, and the dragons have yet to depart (I’m not quite sure how I’m going to manage to feed them!), things for the most part were settling down and life returning to everyday, humdrum normal.

But today they are posting about me again.

The amazing host Rebekah Postupak asked me if I would be willing to answer a few questions about myself, and I was more than willing to take the time. She asked me to answer 10 questions, with each answer being 20 words or less. She calls it a 60 second interview. I’m not sure why they would want more about boring old me on their site, but today that Q&A about me was posted. I did try to make it as interesting as possible. Feel free to check it out: http://flashfriday.wordpress.com/2013/02/13/sixty-seconds-with-curtis-perry/

It was more difficult than I thought it would be. I have a tendency to ramble on about things once I get going. Which is one of the reasons I was so surprised at having won a Flash Fiction contest. Flash fiction, also sometimes called micro-fiction (unless they are two different things, I really don’t know what I’m talking about here) is all about short. Brief. Concise.

A complete story in 250 words. Or 150. Or 50. Ever try to write a story in 50 words? It’s not easy for me. When I get an idea, I usually get an image in my head. A picture, or something like a scene from a movie. When I write, I try to paint a picture of what is in my head. This often takes a lot of words, because I feel the need to describe every detail. Which makes for very boring reading sometimes, even to me.

So when I stumbled across the Flash! Friday writing contest, I thought, well, why not give it a try? Maybe I can learn something about expressing a lot in a few words. I have certainly read a lot of great stories, written by some amazing writers. I have written and submitted several stories, most of them I did in fact like, even after having to cut out a bunch of words to make it fit the criteria for that week.

But I never thought I would actually win. For me, it wasn’t about winning, it was (and is) about the writing. Have I learned anything? Maybe. Maybe not. (This was supposed to be a quick thank you to the Flash! Friday crowd. What did I say about me tending to ramble?) Am I an expert flash fiction writer? Definitely not. Call it beginner’s luck if you want, and maybe it is. I’m definitely a beginner. There’s always more to learn about writing, be it flash fiction or any other style, genre, or type of writing. Always.

So let me cut to the chase (finally!) and thank Rebekah, and all the many others at Flash! Friday, for making it great and for putting up with me as I jump into their end of the literary pool and splash around every Friday.

Now it’s definitely time for me to go. The dragons are getting hungry, which means they’re getting irritated and grumpy. Rule number 1: Never irritate a dragon!

Now I just have to figure out what they like to eat. Maybe if you don’t check out Flash! Friday, they’ll eat you!

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

