Alright, truth be told, I can’t be sure this is the very first poem I ever wrote. But it’s the first poem of mine I remember, and certainly the oldest poem of mine that I still have. I wrote this poem when I was 8 years old, in 3rd grade.

 

Mistake

Human beings should be awake,
So they can see they made a mistake.

I think that we should all agree,
That lots of our trash goes into our sea.

How do we get rid of this icky mess,
I don’t know, I’m sorry to confess.

We better do something fast,
Or we will be in the past.

 

Not the most imaginative poem in the world maybe, probably not in my 3rd grade class either. But hey, it rhymes! And it all fits together and makes sense. Which is not something I can say about everything I’ve written since. And, unfortunately, it’s true. Then and now.

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

