So the day after I come up with a plan for writing 3 stories at once (well, come on, not at exactly the same time), The Daily Prompt puts out this prompt: “What are you more comfortable with — routine and planning, or laissez-faire spontaneity?”

From my last post, you’d think I was the former, that I like routine and planning over spontaneity. This, however, is not entirely accurate.

Two of my favorite sayings are “The best laid plans of mice and men” (if this doesn’t make sense, then read “Of Mice and Men” by John Steinbeck) and “Battle plans work perfectly until the first arrow flies”. (There are a thousand different variations of the second one.)

I do like to have a plan, some sort of idea of what I am doing, where I am going, and sometimes even how long it will take me to get there. I don’t like to try to plan everything down to the second, or figure out every nitty-gritty detail before getting started. What would be the point of even starting?

Here’s another saying: “Don’t wait until all the lights are green before starting, or you’ll never get started.” (There’s different variations of that one too.)

I like to have plenty of wiggle room in any plan I create, because things always change. Always. You have to be flexible, be able to change direction in an instant, sometimes turn completely around. You want to know where you are going, but you have to be willing to change your destination, cut your losses if need be.

At the same time, you have to know what not to change. Ever. No matter what.

Here’s an example: Writing this blog post. (Most of my blog posts are like this, but we’ll stick with this one for now.) My goal was to write a blog post, and I wasn’t going to change that goal unless something very, very drastic happened. I had a plan of writing one based off of the Daily Prompt, since it fit nicely with what I blogged about yesterday. But I didn’t plan out the details before I started writing. I had no idea I was going to put in quotes and sayings. Or use the post I’m writing as an example of what I’m writing about. There were times when I wrote something I thought was good, but then I deleted it and started over or went in a different direction.

So, to sum my answer to The Daily Prompt’s question, I am most comfortable with a flexible plan with room for spontaneity.

One thought on “thoughts on planning

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

