Sandwiches. A most versatile food. They can be just about anything, usually pretty much surrounded by bread. However, a lot of people have preconceived notions of what a sandwich should and should not be.

For example, I bring to work with me two peanut butter sandwiches almost every day. On wheat bread. Sometimes, when I’m eating lunch, a co-worker will come over and ask what I’m eating.

Me: Oh, just a peanut butter sandwich.

Co-worker: Ah, peanut butter and jelly. Classic.

Me: Who said anything about jelly? This is just plain peanut butter.

Then my co-worker proceeds to give me a weird look.

Somewhat reminiscent of the exasperated looks my mom used to give my sister and I when we would make jelly sandwiches. No peanut butter, just jelly. And almost always way too much jelly.

But look. It’s really simple. Bread, peanut butter, bread. It takes about 10 seconds to make. It’s not messy to make or eat. And, as long as you like peanut butter, it tastes just fine. I do suggest having a lot of whatever it is you like to drink, though.

Now, I’m not always so plain and simple with my sandwiches. Sometimes I get fairly adventurous. I once stumbled across a favorite of mine when I decided to try a peanut butter and onion sandwich. Delicious.

Of course, I get even weirder looks when I tell people about that one. Sigh. Some people are so stuck in their ways. So many people think peanut butter and onion sounds gross, but every single person I know of that has tried it has liked it. I probably wouldn’t recommend it if you don’t like peanut butter or onion, but it’s really quite good.

Other times, I like to put honey and/or a cinnamon-sugar mixture on a peanut butter sandwich. Yum.

And my most epic peanut butter sandwich ever – bread, peanut butter, banana slices, onion, cinnamon-sugar, peanut butter, bread, more peanut butter, apple slices, raisins, honey, even more peanut butter and topped with, you guessed it, bread!

That was a great sandwich. I’m going to have to make that one again sometime.

But I don’t always include peanut butter in my sandwiches. Once I made a ham and cheese sandwich with mayo, lettuce, olives, and pickles (I think it had pickles. It was many years ago) all on a cinnamon raisin bagel. That was a really good sandwich too.

However, all of my creative, strange, and weird sandwich making ideas have recently been put to shame.

You see, I have a 3-year-old nephew. Well, 3 and half. The half is important at that age. He recently had a PBCH&J sandwich. Peanut butter, Croutons, Honey, and Jelly sandwich. Italian flavored croutons.

I’m gonna have to try that some time.

Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with peanut butter and jelly. It is a classic, and I do have it on occasion. It’s just most days I’m fine with plain old peanut butter, and when I feel like making a crazy sandwich, jelly just isn’t crazy enough for me.

Do you have a favorite sandwich that others think is weird? What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever had on a sandwich?

One thought on “on sandwiches

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

