the need to create

why is not the question, but

what is the answer

lost without any

answers. questioning without

knowing where I am

creativity

adrift, unmoored, no captain

at the helm but me

The desire to create is not always easy to satisfy. Often I have an idea, but when I try to make it a reality, it often doesn’t come out right. Sometimes it ends up different from what was in my head, but still works, and is often better. But all too often, what I am trying to do simply falls apart. Words don’t come together, lines don’t work together.

But lately, something different has been happening. The desire to create is there. But I don’t know what it is I should be trying to create. Should I write? Draw? Come up with something funny and silly and interesting and post it somewhere on internet? Make a video? Write a super interesting blog post?

I want to create, but I don’t know what. Often lately, I’ve come up empty even when thinking about commenting on other blogs, let alone post to my blog or anything else.

But apparently, I can still write poetry. And a blog post. This urge to create is not so much a fire burning inside me driving me before it, as it is a tide rising, pushing me to act, but the direction I go in is up to me.

One thought on “creativity adrift

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

