The Daily Post asked what seems like a fairly straight forward question today:

If you could get all the nutrition you needed in a day with a pill — no worrying about what to eat, no food preparation — would you do it?

(See the actual post here.)

My simple and straight forward answer is yes, I would.  I don’t particularly enjoy cooking or the cleaning up, though I can do both when I need to (and don’t complain too loudly about it … usually).

However, what comes to mind is a Garfield cartoon I read once. Garfield falls asleep and when he wakes up he realizes he slept for 100 years or so. (Or maybe he is only dreaming? Hmmm…)

So, in the future, the world is clean, people are flying around in flying cars, incredibly tall skyscrapers elegantly tower over expansive parks, the weather is beautiful, and everyone is happy.

But all food comes in pill form. Breakfast? A pill. Lunch? Dinner? Dessert? All pills.

Garfield (if you’ve never read the comics) likes to eat. A lot. At any chance he can get, and just about anything. He can’t stand eating nothing but a few pills a day. He wants to eat, and starts going crazy from not being able to eat. I don’t remember how he gets out of it, but he does get back to his own time and normal food again. (Maybe he was dreaming…)

Now, I don’t think I’d go crazy from not eating. But it’s something to think about. I do enjoy eating my favorite foods.  I would still say yes to the pill, but ideally, I would still like to have the option of eating if I wanted to, if possible.

One thought on “why is there never a green pill? or a purple pill?

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

