Ever hear the saying “There is a first time for everything?”

It’s just another way to say “never say never.”

But how can there be a first time for everything? Because me being hired by NASA to be an astronaut right out of high school is a thing, but it never happened.

But since it didn’t happen, does that mean it isn’t a thing? Maybe this non-thing isn’t part of “everything” anymore because it didn’t happen.

If only things that exist are things, then only the definite past is part of everything. In that case, there is a first time for everything, because anything that didn’t happen isn’t part of the equation.

And yet, me being hired by NASA to be an astronaut right out of high school is a thing, even though it never happened. It is a whimsical “what if” thought type of thing, but still a thing.

But I’m being too specific here. It’s not about me, or even NASA, really.

The “thing” is someone, somewhere, being hired as an astronaut by some space exploration/travel entity/corporation right of high school. That is the thing,and I don’t know if it’s happened yet, but it might.

There’s a first time for everything, right?

Well now.

That’s a little far out there for me simply trying to let everyone know this is my first post that I’m writing and posting from my phone.

I’m using the WordPress app. I’ve had for a while, but this is the first time I’ve used it for creating an actual post on my blog.

It’s not bad, but it’s kind of a pain to create links, even to previous blog posts.

Oh, and while it’s not right out of high school for me anymore, if anyone from NASA was looking for an inexperienced astronaut, feel free to let me know.

2 thoughts on “first time for everything

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

