So the Daily Prompt asked today – You’re going on a cross-country trip. Airplane, train, bus, or car? (Or something else entirely — bike? Hot air balloon?)

When I was younger and asked my mom for a ride somewhere, she would often reply with “You’ve got two good legs.” Meaning of course, that I was free to walk or ride my bike if I wanted to go.

I, if time and money were not a question, would walk across the country. And not just across the country. I would zig zag my way across the map. North in the summer, south in the winter, slowly heading east and west.

There is a lot to see in the United States of America. I’ve seen a fair bit of it already. I spent two months in the fall of 2001 on a cross-country road trip. I wasn’t walking, that was a car trip. Me, my fiancée (who is now my wife), and two friends, drove from New England to California. We left Connecticut on Sept. 8th, 2001, went to Salem, Massachusetts; stayed in beautiful Guilford, Vermont; saw Niagara Falls; camped at the Kentucky Horse Park; drove over the Mackinac Bridge in Michigan; through the sand hills of Nebraska; saw Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse Mt, and Jewel Cave in the Black Hills of South Dakota; visited Devil’s Tower and Yellowstone in Wyoming; drove through Seattle, Washington; over the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco, and did a few touristy things in Hollywood in Los Angeles, in California.

Then our two friends took a train back to Connecticut, and my fiancée and I headed east at more leisurely pace. Drove down the strip in Los Vegas and over the Hoover Dam in Nevada, visited the Grand Canyon in Arizona; went to Roswell, New Mexico; drove around in an old neighborhood of mine in Texas (not that I recognized anything from when I was 7 years old); a quick walking tour of the French Quarter in New Orleans, Louisiana. We were kind of rushing up the east coast, but we did stay in a caboose turned cabin in Yemassee, South Carolina; then back to Connecticut on Nov. 11th, 2001.

It was a most excellent trip. I saw a lot of things, and visited a lot of places, and made a lot of memories. What I wrote above about the trip was just a few of the highlights.

However, it wasn’t all peaches and cream. Before the trip, I of course had to make sure my car insurance was paid and would be paid while I was gone. Outside Omaha, Nebraska, my 1986 Toyota Camry stopped accelerating and a Toyota dealer got to fix a timing belt and an oil leak and I got to pay them $300. (That is a great story in and of itself. Maybe I’ll tell that one another day.) Around that same time one of the headlights stopped working. In California, the muffler fell off. ( I stuffed it in the trunk. Don’t know where I found the room.)  I honestly don’t know how that car survived the trip.

And, there was a lot of things I wanted to see, that I wasn’t able to get to, or stop for, or go out of my way to go to.

So. Instead of driving, I would walk. I would walk and see everything thing I wanted to. If I saw a flower or a herd of deer or an interesting building or a beautiful vista, I would stop and enjoy the view, and probably take a picture, or two, or a lot.

I would make sure to see the Redwood trees, and stone arches of southern Utah. I would explore Seattle. It seemed like an interesting place. I would walk the endless fields of North Dakota, and the mountains of Colorado. I would go back to my childhood neighborhood in Texas and wander around until I’ve either found something that is familiar, or discover that everything I do remember has changed. I would see anything interesting there is to see in Oklahoma and Tennessee. I would visit the Florida Keys. Explore corners of New England I haven’t been to yet.

And I would visit all the spots in between. The spots often missed on other types of trips. I would visit every national and state park I could find, and explore every square foot I could get to. I would read local history monuments and visit old cemeteries. I would walk highways and by-ways and sidewalks and dirt tracks and game trails. I would walk the deserts and the mountains and the forests and the fields and the beaches. I would walk under the sun and the moon and the stars. I would eat apple pie in every state of the union and decide they are all the best. I would meet awesome people and have awesome conversations and learn amazing things. And by awesome people, I mean the normal, everyday people who work at gas stations and roadside diners and touristy trinket shops. I would meet fellow travelers, and talk about where we’ve been and where we are going. I would visit friends and family where ever they happen to be.

I would take the time to write. Keep a journal, write thoughts, impressions, feelings, describe the sights I see, the people I meet, the stories I hear and the things I learn.

It would take years and years, but if I was able to travel the country, that’s how I would do it. It would be tiring. I would be too hot when it was hot, and too cold when it was cold, and wet when it rained. But I would see the country. I would hear it, smell it, taste it, feel it.

But that is a dream. That is if time and money were not a factor.

Most likely, if I were to actually travel across the country, I would do what I’ve done the past couple times I’ve done so. I would scrape up enough money from somewhere for some plane tickets, and my wife and I would fly back to New England and have a wonderful, amazing time visiting family and friends, time that I wouldn’t trade for anything in the whole world, including an all expenses paid years long walking tour of the nation.

One thought on “I’ve got two good legs…

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

