Here’s a picture I drew a long time ago, which I have titled Stream of Consciousness:

Stream of Consciousness 3.23.1999

During my senior year of high school I visited a college in New Hampshire and met with an art professor. One suggestion he gave me was to draw more, even just doodle. He suggested drawing a box, and then drawing lines within that box. He said the lines had to go from one side of the box to the other, and the lines could not cross each other.

I did that a few times, and then took a few liberties with the rules. I decided the lines didn’t have to go from one side to the other. Lines could end on the same side they started, or end by hitting another line, but I kept the rule about lines not crossing. And then I colored it (using colored pencils if you want to know), which isn’t something I normally do with my doodles.

Some of the distorted shapes I ended up with made me think of looking at objects under water, and the name Stream of Consciousness slowly came to be.

Recently I had an idea for a new picture. I created this entirely on my laptop, using Gimp 2.8. I call it Stream of Unconsciousness:

Unconsciousness

2 thoughts on “streaming, online

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

