So many things I could have done today. So many things I wanted to get done today. And I did none of them. I almost didn’t post anything today. Nothing I had thought about writing about was working. I even went searching for writing challenges (albeit halfheartedly) but nothing I saw really captured my interest.

I was just about to turn off my laptop, call it a night, and go to bed. Then, for some reason, “a drop of water” popped into my head. I may have been idly looking at the glass of water on my end table. Maybe. Then I realized that “a drop of water” has five syllables. Perfect for writing haiku.

So I came up with a last minute challenge for myself, to write haiku starting with “a drop of water”. Here’s what I came up with:

A drop of waterraindrops
sliding down the window pane. A
tear, sliding down my face

~

~

A drop of waterDesert_sand_vista_background
One drop is all that is left
Death in the desert

~

~

A drop of water
in an ocean of oil
continues to be

~

~

A drop of waterraindance1
A memory, sad but sweet,
Dancing in the rain

~

~

a drop of waterStorm clouds and crashing waves
the raging waves are naught but
a drop of water

~

~

A drop of waterTeddy couch
on my cat’s nose, he sure is
a messy drinker

(I don’t have a picture of my cat with a drop of water on his nose, but this does happen. For more about my cat, click his picture.)

~

A drop of water4-elements-black
A lick of flame, grain of sand
A breath of fresh air

~

~

 

Those are the haiku I came up with. If you feel like it, go ahead and write your own haiku (or some other style of poem, or a story, or whatever) starting with “a drop of water”. Or haiku about water. Or anything else. Share in the comments, or link back here if you like.

Happy Haikuing!

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

