Just a quick note about how I updated my “pieces of my soul” page today.

It’s a page I created to list all of the poems I post here, so if anyone wanted a quick an easy way to rummage through my poems, they could.

Only the way I set it up, it was a pain in the proverbial derriere. I was creating a new page, with a copy of the poem. Then I had to edit my “pieces of my soul” page with a new link to the new page.

But WordPress’ Daily Post ran an article about short codes (you can find it here), and I thought I could use that information to make my life easier. At least the part of my life that wanted to have an organized list of the poems I post here.

Well, after a few false starts, I got the list to work. Now there is an easy to navigate, automatically updating list of all my posts that are categorized with “Poetry”.

This means that a few posts in that list are about poetry in some way, but don’t actually include a poem. But I can live with that.

I added an image,

face-puzzle-pieces-seperate

and a brief description of what the list is, and viola! Done.

And I don’t have to update it unless and until I post over a thousand posts in my Poetry category. That will be a while, I think.

If you’re interested in browsing my poetry, just look at the list of pages on the top right of the page, and click on “pieces of my soul”.

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

