world-jigsaw-puzzle

 

What is your most favorite smell/scent?

I like the smell of fresh-cut grass, and summer breezes. The scent of a fresh new autumn in golden woodlands. Cinnamon and apples baking in a pie. The smell of the salty ocean, and of freshly fallen snow. The odor of clean dirt and the smell of fog in the mountains.

Go ahead. Ask me what smells I don’t like. I dare you.

How do you write: computer, longhand or other?

Mostly on my laptop now, though I do carry around a notebook with me to write down thoughts and ideas when they appear in my brain. Although now I often will type things into my phone, so, more typing there.

Your favorite blog post that you have written? (add link)

I would have to say that one of my favorite posts is “butterfly just floating by”. There are some poems in there, but I have posted a lot of poems, and I like most of them. Many of them are top contenders for my favorite post, even. (If you want to read some of my poetry, you should check out my “pieces of my soul” page, with links to all of my poetry posts.)

It also has some pictures I took of a butterfly, some pretty nice ones if I do say so myself.

But this post is more than pictures and poems. This post was the beginning of something. From this post came a lot of the inspiration for what I posted the day after. And from those posts, an idea took shape. This idea I have called “Remarkable People”. It is still a small idea, but I have a page for this idea, and three segments so far, with a fourth waiting to be written.

But it all started with this post I mentioned before: butterfly just floating by.

What’s one of your favorite books from childhood?

One? Just one? You tried to get me to pick just one favorite scent. I managed to pick just one blog post for the above question. Now you want me to pick just one favorite book from my childhood?

Oh boy. Well, let’s see. I liked every single Dr. Suess book I ever read, he’s still one of my favorite authors. I guess I’ll have to go with Dr. Suess books. That’s as close to one as your going to get.

I also devoured every Hardy Boys book I could get my grubby little paws on. (When I was a kid, I didn’t have hands, I had “grubby little paws”. Just ask my mother.) Of course, I pretty much read almost any book that caught my eye. There was a series of books about a boy detective that solved mysteries around his neighborhood. A book I remember being called “The Incognito Mosquito”. “Hatchet” was a favorite, and it’s sequel wasn’t too bad. Lots of books, mostly mystery, action, and adventure. Though once I discovered the science fiction/fantasy section of my local library, I don’t think I left for years.

 Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am grateful that the bit of drama I was involved in at work at the end of last week didn’t blow up into something huge and impossible to ignore. Luckily I was able to (mostly) smooth things over so it didn’t get too out of hand.

I am looking forward to hopefully finding out if my manager gets one of the two positions she interviewed for. Because if she gets a promotion, then I will have a chance to try to get promoted into her vacated position. Sounds kinda selfish when I put it that way, but if anyone I work with deserves a promotion, it’s my boss.

share-your-world2

These are my responses to Cee’s Share Your World Challenge. You should check it out if you haven’t already.

3 thoughts on “pieces of my world: part 12

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

