I’ve been wanting to write more the past few days. Feeling that restlessness in my brain and my fingers. I had several bits and pieces I’ve written down in various places that I wanted to organize and save with the rest of my stuff, and maybe even flesh out a few of them into actual finished (or closer to finished) projects. I had some larger ideas I had in notebooks I wanted to add to the even larger projects they related to, and I was hopeful that I could continue working on those as well.

Last night, I had the opportunity to do just that.

I had emailed several notes I had on my phone to myself, and I started by saving those as documents on my laptop. One of the notes was a couple of ideas for titles for an idea that I had a long time ago. Except now I couldn’t find where I had saved that idea…

I looked in all the likely and most of the unlikely folders and files on my hard drive. I went through years worth of emails between me and a friend of mine because we often bounce ideas back and forth and I thought I had sent him my idea. I went through two notebooks of mine in case I had written there, but never typed it out.

Nothing.

So, I wrote out a few things I remembered from my idea, and saved the titles, but I know there are a lot of details I wasn’t remembering right then.

And now it was hours later. The larger ideas I had for my writing time now seemed too big for how tired I felt. So what to do? I didn’t want to not write at all. I sat there staring at my desktop for a while…

Recently, I set my desktop background to cycle through several of my favorite pictures and images, changing every minute.

I was staring at one, birds flying away from a tree, and a few lines popped into my head. “the bird flies, you think it free” I hurriedly opened a new document and typed it out, along with a few other lines that seemed to fit, then went back to my desktop. By this time, the image had changed.

With each image, I tried to find something about it that inspired me to write. I tried to think about the story behind the image, or look at it from a different angle. And I tried to do it all in the sixty seconds the image was on my screen.

It didn’t always work. Some images I didn’t think of anything. Other times I took too long writing, and I would miss the next picture.

But after the second cycle through all the images, I had sixteen or so documents, all with some bits and/or pieces of something that could possibly be worked into something that might be good. And through one of those bits and pieces, I ended up with a idea for what could be a much larger story.

(Sometimes I think too many ideas and not enough working on (and finishing) these projects is going to be the death of me…)

Overall, it was fun impromptu game, overloading myself with prompts and limiting the time I have with each one. I might have to try it again sometime. But for now, I’m going to go work on some of the projects I’ve already started…

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

