So I have this notebook I keep by my bed.

Sometimes I write out thoughts before going to sleep. Other times I write things after I wake up – dreams, or just things that have taken residence in my brain overnight.

And then there are times I wake up in the middle of the night with some burning idea that has to be written down RIGHT NOW!

As I look at the things I’ve written down later, sometimes I see thoughtful philosophy, or witty poetry, or something that at least has potential to be something cool or interesting. Other times I see unintelligible gibberish, or random scratches on the paper (I have attempted to write things down in complete darkness on more than one occasion. Sometimes I can actually decipher what I wrote. I think…)

And then there are the times you end up with gems like the one I apparently wrote on February 19, 2013:

The frog

goes for a jog

around the bog

in the morning fog

thinking about his blog

as he passes the hog

~~~

Yep. That happened. There are also some crossed out lines about a turtle leaping hurdles and a fly zipping by. Or something. Gotta love some of the things that happen in your brain when it should be sleeping. Or maybe still is sleeping…

midnight musings

Comments? Questions? Criticisms? Conundrums?

